REVIEW: KIEHLS Ultra Facial Cream – WINTER Skincare Saviour?

Kiehl's Ultra Facial Cream REVIEW MTV Staying Alive TINIEXKIEHLS

image

The quest for “our best skin.”

As we get older and experience “cultural stresses” and weather extremes, our skin naturally loses its ability to hold hydration and it becomes harder to keep dry skin at bay.

For some it can be a year round struggle even if skin type is not typically ‘dry’ – you know the drill, the indoor heat versus outdoor cold battle every winter followed by the onslaught of the summer months. These “cultural stresses” and weather extremes take their toll on our skin year in, year out and can contribute to fine lines becoming more visible, uneven skin surface etc.

I am a firm believer in investing in good quality skincare coupled with a vigorous skincare routine, to set us up nicely on the path to great skin.

Cult Status:

My official introduction to the Kiehl’s skincare line came in the form of the Ultra Facial Cream* – a brand already adorned with a cult following and one I have longed to try properly since my teenage years (when I tried a friend’s stash of the Creme de Corps lotion, with her permission of course!) – yes I have always been a beauty and make-up maven. Surprised?

image

First Impressions:

This new addition to my skincare routine is a surprising yet, very welcome change to my winter skin upkeep. I must admit, at first I was a little dubious as to how my skin would react to such a moisture infusing facial product – however upon trying it for the first time I was hooked!

Kiehl's Ultra Facial Cream REVIEW MTV Staying Alive TINIEXKIEHLS

{Display: at the Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream MTV Staying Alive TINIEXKIEHLS Launch in Dublin.}

Fast forward several months and it has become a staple in my “winter skin arsenal.” I was kindly sent a pot to try after attending the MTV Staying Alive TINIEXKIEHLS Launch in Dublin at the end of last year, and delightedly so, this particular pot is raising funds for a good cause, the label was designed by rapper Tinie Tempah and the product itself has the aforementioned cult following we talked about. If you’re interested to find out more, all of the details are in my post on the launch – linked above.

Kiehl's Ultra Facial Cream REVIEW MTV Staying Alive TINIEXKIEHLS

Winter Skin HERO Product?

You betcha! I found this cream to be a real treat for winter ravaged skin. I actually look forward to applying this cream daily and enjoy the veil of hydration I get from it. It adds a robust boost to my winter skincare routine and eliminates the worry of developing dry skin patches during the harsh winter months.

Top Tip: If I’m stuck for lip balm I use this beaut to keep dryness at bay and lips looking lush!

Kiehl's Ultra Facial Cream REVIEW MTV Staying Alive TINIEXKIEHLS
{Tried and Tested: by the world’s leading explorers.}

The Low-down:

Perfect for the following Skin types:

→Normal/Combination (me)
→Dry
→Parched – as always, get a sample and see if the product will work for your skin type. I think it could be beneficial for parched skin, although I don’t have that skin type myself.

Kiehl's Ultra Facial Cream REVIEW MYV Staying Alive TINIEXKIEHLS

Tried and Tested: The Results:

Worth the hype?

My Experience using Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream yielded the following results:

Locks in moisture: much like a barrier cream it creates an invisible layer of hydration to the skin against the harsh winter weather elements.
Adds a radiant glow to skin after immediate use. This is continual with use, allowing nourished and luminous skin shine through even on no makeup days.
Lightweight, yet somehow still deeply moisture infusing; the cream is easily and rapidly absorbed allowing for a quick makeup application after use.
Creates a perfect, smooth, base for underneath make-up – make-up sits beautifully, doesn’t move around and buffs in like a dream.
Scent: faint, non-offensive scent.

Performance Points: 5/5

 

Kiehl's Ultra Facial Cream REVIEW MTV Staying Alive TINIEXKIEHLS

{Pictured: Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream; Lightweight, fast-absorbing, radiant, moisture infusing. }

Bonus Factors:

Longevity: I’m about half way through a 125ml pot retailing at €54. I’ve used it morning and evening religiously for the last three months – meaning you’ll definitely get bang for your buck!

This product truly makes my skin happy, which makes me happy – warranting the 5/5 score.

Kiehl's Ultra Facial Cream REVIEW MTV Staying Alive TINIEXKIEHLS

The Notes:

SPF:

I would welcome of a version of this containing sunscreen to the Ultra Facial Cream family, as I think it would be perfect for outdoor trips like skiing etc.

Unisex Appeal:

A unique selling point of this product is that it’s not exclusively a female skincare product. It can be used by our male counterparts also as demonstrated by some of the world’s best explorers in the coldest of mountainous terrain – the Arctic.  Pictured above.

Sick Day Skin:

I’ve been unwell and nestled in bed for a good three weeks now with the dreaded flu and complications from it. My facial skin had started to look sluggish and lifeless as a result – thankfully, the Ultra Facial Cream has really proven itself even with sick day skin! Giving me the injection of hydration I’ve needed to perk up my skin and add a moisture infused radiance back into it, allowing me feel a little more human again.

This, coupled with a quick gentle, daily exfoliation and an extra shot of hydration with a mist of thermal water has saved my skin, primed and prepped, ready to get back to work and back on the events scene, once I have recovered.

Packaging:

Availability in a tube form would make this more travel friendly, (I would have to depot when travelling ) – not a huge bother but would definitely up the ease of use, immensely!

The Verdict:

Seal of Approval?

Absolutely. This product is a tall drink of water for the skin and I would highly recommend it. I will be running out to purchase a new pot once I’m done!

It’s safe to say, I’m officially a “Kiehl’s Konvert.”

image

Availability: all Kiehl’s stores and Irish Kiehl’s stores in Wicklow Street Dublin, Dundrum Town Centre and Arnott’s Department store, Dublin.

Next to try on my Kiehl’s hitlist?
I’m looking forward to trying the Avocado Eye Cream and The Ultra Facial Cleanser.

Have any of YOU tried anything from the Kiehl’s skincare line?

If so, I’d love to ear your faves so leave me your recommendations in the comments section below or Tweet me: @DublinGail/Tag me on Instagram: @littlegforce.

I hope you found this Review/Beauty Chat post informative and useful, especially if you’re in the market for a new hydrating moisturiser.

Thanks for stopping by guys!

Gail. Xx
Photography: © Gail O’Connor.

Note: the Ultra Facial Cream pictured in this post sporting the Tinie Tempah label is the Limited Edition pot, you may be able to still get your hands on a Limited Edition pot – Ultra Facial Cream is a permanent fixture in the skincare line at Kiehl’s.

*Disclaimer: as mentioned this pot is a PR Sample – my thoughts on the product however are all mine! I don’t feature products/brands I don’t truly like/admire – nor am I influenced by outside sources.

Leave a comment