DIPG Cancer in Children: Taking Time & the Grief Process.

Learning to take a step back and allowing yourself to process and feel.

You’re probably wondering where I’ve been the last couple months – I took some time and lessened my work load #MindYourself as I was feeling run down and lack-lustre when it came to a lot of things.

This is a bit of a more personal post for me to explain my absence from my blog and to highlight how taking time out can be a very good thing but it’s knowing when to and actually implementing said break that is what we need to not lose focus on.

Just before Christmas was a particularly stressful time for me (as it is for most) but I also had a feeling gnawing away at me that I couldn’t quite put my finger on…

Anxiety, feeling overwhelmed, nauseous, weepy, and just not feeling like my usual “Social Butterfly” self. A feeling very new to me. Then one day these feelings coupled with residual feelings of anger and loss, confusion and feelings of betrayal gave way to unadulterated grief.

Grief.

Grief for my precious 4 year old niece Molly whom I lost to a rare, aggressive, inoperable brain cancer, 2 years ago – her anniversary having just passed.

Grief that I had compartmentalized, pushed to the back of my head in order to finish college and bury my head in my newly established blog to get through each day.

Grief. That finally rose from the depths of my thoughts because it seemed “safe” to do so. I had been strong for others for the time needed. Now it was my turn to allow myself the time to process my feelings and thoughts on the tragedy and feel and embrace the torrent of emotions that were couped up.

Don’t get me wrong, throughout the two years since her passing I’ve allowed myself time to cry on my own, feel sad and lost to a certain extent…but again I hadn’t felt that rush of release from my grief that leads you on the road to complete acceptance.

I now feel I am continuing on my journey of acceptance and release and starting to be able to open up and share more as to what happened and what a joy Molly was!

{More needs to be done to research here in Ireland and indeed around the world in relation to this rare, aggressive and inoperable form of childhood cancer.}

I have a short poem about my niece that I wrote and I would like to share, entitled “Living Doll” because that’s what she was to me:

Living Doll:

Sparkling red hair, peaches and cream complexion

A tiny doll, so full of affection.

A mighty stance, even at four, a personality so fierce and hard to ignore.

A beacon of joy, the possibilities were endless, when the news broke we were left breathless.

My living doll now relieved of the pain, our loss – heaven’s gain.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As always thanks for stopping by and thanks SO much for sticking with me through my absence. It’s much appreciated.

If you’re looking for me on my other Social Media channels you can find me on •Twitter: DublinGail  •Instagram: littlegforce •Snapchat: username DublinGail •Facebook: GlamForce Blog by Gail OConnor.

Gail. Xx

Imagery: © DIPG US Facebook page. .

*Not sponsored.

Special thanks go to all of the staff especially Molly’s care teams at Crumlin Children‘s Hospital, Temple Steet Hospital and Laura Lynn Children’s Hospice. I’d also like to thank the charity Aoibheann’s Pink Tie.

If you are ever wanting to donate to worthy charities and causes any of these hospitals and charities mentioned are worthy. I would highlight however that Laura Lynn is Ireland’s ONLY Children’s Hospice and is non-government funded and relies on charitable donations.

2 thoughts on “DIPG Cancer in Children: Taking Time & the Grief Process.

  1. Oh Gail 😢 There are no words. What a beautiful poem you wrote for Molly. Such a hard post to write I bet, I can’t even begin to imagine the pain of such a loss ❤️ You’ll be in my thoughts and prayers siobhan xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you SO much for your kind words Siobhan, much appreciated. It was indeed very hard to press publish on this post and I was/am a bit nervous to to have it out there but it needed to be highlighted as we need more research due to the rarity of it, the fact that there’s no cure and the sheer speed in which it takes a life. Thanks for the support it means more than you know. 💖 xo

      Like

Leave a comment